GR2 Weekly- 06 September 2015 Edition

image001

06 September 2015

A very pleasant day to each and every one of you!  This is the one and only Azzy here, ready and willing to dish out another edition of GR2 Weekly!  Been a pretty busy week on my end of things post-Geek.Kon, but after doing some catching up on my sleep today, I do think I have enough energy left to get this post up and online.  For those of you who may be new to this, I do wanna give a smidgebit of a Disclaimer.  Any of these posts I put online are the points and views of me and only me.  They do not in any way, shape or form reflects the views of any convention or group I may or may not be affiliated with.  I’m just one random dude on the Internet giving his thoughts on various geeky subjects. Amongst some of the more interesting things that happened this week: IFLScience posted an interesting article about how the Ankylosaurs got its tail, Halo 5’s intro has a rather interesting cameo, River Song will be reappearing in the upcoming season of Doctor Who, we finally get to (in a way) meet the face behind the popular science website I Fucking Love Science and well-known Halo composer and Bungie co-founder Martin O’Donnell won his court case against Bungie after he was surprisingly fired April of last year. Amongst the lowlights: the world lost Horror movie genius Wes Craven this week, the FTC found that Machinima used deceptive advertising practices in regards to the Xbox One and certain YouTubers, one of the world’s top Smash Bros. players is the latest pro gamer to suffer major burnout, a game called Shower With Your Dad Simulator is disturbingly a thing and a “Slave Tetris” minigame in a Playing History game was sadly a whole other thing entirely.  But here’s what topped both lists this time around:

Geek Rave of the Week

If you have ever engaged in any substantial amount of online gaming, wether it be Call of Duty, Madden, FIFA, World of Warcraft, Counter Strike or the like, there is one tragic inevitability.  That sad fact?  Cheaters.  But what even causes a bigger moral dilemma is when you’re in a Co-op match and it’s your own partner that is doing said cheating.

image002

There are multiple ways to go about this.  One can report the cheating teammate, just let things slide or quit the match in total and utter disgust.  But one particular gamer who goes by the tag Soulm8 went with Option D: make your cheating teammate’s life a total hell.  During one particular match, Soulm8 noticed his partner, Morkovka seemed to be just a smidge too good and discovered Morky was using an Aimbot and somehow had the ability to see through walls. And while (sadly, yet understandably so) many would have just let things be, Soulm8 was having none of that.

Deciding to take matters into his own hands, he proceeds to do several things to mess things up.  He throws Flash-bangs at Morky to blind him, allows the opposing team to kill the cheater and repeatedly stand in front of Morky whenever he tried to snipe.  This goes on for several minutes until poor Morky eventually left the game (or as it popped up on the screen “Kicked by Console: For taking too much team damage”). Soulm8, we applaud you for your heroic efforts in putting cheaters in their place.  You are a man amongst men.


Geek Rant of the Week

This week’s Rant subject isn’t so much a Rant as it is a statement of worry and concern.  I was initially planning on posting an in-depth look at the woes and worry surrounding the upcoming scheduled Titletown Comic and Entertainment Expo, but it seems Nerd & Tie kind of beat me to the punch.  So instead, I’ll share some experiences I myself have had in regards to things, but not necessarily in chronological order.

A couple of months ago, the convention posted on their Facebook page a contest for people to submit logo designs for one of the event’s scheduled Panels, Authors & Aliens, with the winner receiving two Free Tundra VIP passes to the convention.  I was oddly the only one who submitted an entry, so I did eventually end up winning them (it was about an hour or two AFTER the time they said the winner would be announced when I found out).  It seemed odd it would take that long to announce the winner with only one person entered into the contest, but I was ecstatic regardless.  A few days or so later, the panel itself (which was hosted by Denni Towle) was posted as an event on Facebook…….with a logo that was something entirely different than the design I submitted.

image003

This is what I submitted.

On top of the slashing of the Guest List and the Tundracade wrestling event, the Authors and Aliens panel was the latest victim.

image004

Needless to say, I have been quite worried about what this means in regards to the Passes I won and attempted to contact them through the TCE2 FB page.  Been a couple of days and I have yet to get a response, so I proceeded to message directly some of the people responsible for TCE2.  More on that in a bit.

Oddball incident #2 came actually just a few days after I got back home from Geek.Kon and I saw this in regards to the aforementioned wrestling event:

image005

When I left a comment, expressing how bummed I was and while I forgot to screencap it at the time (it takes the brain a few days to mentally recover from helping run a convention), I basically was “recruited” to help secure sponsors so it could happen at the June convention.  They were initially planning on doing the October AND a June convention.

Incident #3 is fairly recent.  And by recent, I mean it happened today (this post was composed Monday).  In spite of the shakiness and doubt surrounding the event, I was still at least somewhat willing to go (I did promise the other free pass to my sister), but then this was brought to my attention on Facebook:

image006

So yeah, it had appeared that they pushed the convention yet again, this time, back to June 2016 and the only way people have been finding out is through the fan pages of people such as Christopher Khayman Lee (Power Rangers In Space) and not the TCE2 page itself.  And in an update of sorts, I did just hear back from two of the people running the event.  But even then, there has been some conflicting information as to the event’s status for October.  According to the official FB page for TCE2, the event is still on and that the “cancellation” was a miscommunication between them and the guests they had to cut back on.  But even if they are still on for October, the way TCE2 has been “managed” (it almost feels like other people are being asked to do the grunt work), I’m just not sure I can still bring myself to go either time.  For those of you who aren;t sure either or have been disgusted enough to try elsewhere, there’s a plethora of conventions in this fine state.  You have Kitsune Kon (which is in the KI Center the month after the June TCE2), Geek.Kon, Anime Milwaukee, Daisho Con, No Brand Con, the 2016 debut of the Nerd & Tie Expo in Eau Claire, Wizard World Madison and that’s not even counting the scores of micro-cons (especially those of the gaming and/or comic variety) scattered all throughout the state.  The options ARE out there.  I’m just not sure anymore which ones I’ll exercise.

Well, my fellow geeks and geekettes across the interwebs, that brings this blogiside of GR2 Weekly to a most satisfying end.  And as I tend to enjoy mentioning every chance I get, should you have any suggestions for what I should Rant and/or Rave about (please suggest away, I promise I won’t bite), feel free to message me and you are equally as encouraged to post much linkage on the official GR2 Weekly Facebook page.  See you next week!  While you’re still here, though, be sure to check out and Vote Up Lemme Addams everybody.  Sonny Strait will be a happy person.  😛

Leave a Reply

