GR2 Weekly- 02 August 2015 Edition

image001

02 August 2015

Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii! How have you all been this fine day? Azzy here and I can’t complain too much myself. I will for sure be going to Titletown Comic and Entertainment Expo this October as I won a pair of Tundra VIP passes through a contest they held on their Facebook page a few days ago, so you’ll see at least one more Recap this year (besides the one for Geek.Kon). Speaking of Geek.Kon, it’s hard to believe it’s so close at hand already. Just gotta make sure I can finish my Power Rangers panel in time for it. 😛 But as far as the rest of the general Geek World is concerned, it’s been a pretty busy week as it usually tends to be. This week brought us another Summer edition of Games Done Quick on Twitch to raise funds for Doctors Without Borders, Japan is converting some of its abandoned golf courses into Solar Panel fields, the potential “conflict” between WWE’s Stardust and Arrow’s Stephen Amell looks like it might be a thing still, NASA has helped develop a Wi-fi chip that can save on battery usage in wearable Smart Tech and PS Plus subscribers may soon be able to vote from a list every month to determine what games will be Free for that particular month. But alas, and good lord, there was enough craptasticness to fill up 3 week’s worth of intros and Rants this time around, but amongst the pile of turds: The makers of Halo 5: Guardians had the audacity to remove the split-screen option for Multiplayer, Smash Bros. fans are whining that the new Tournament Mode isn’t good enough, some Major League A**holes in Pilly brutally destroyed an innocent hitchhiking robot that successfully traversed Canada and Europe with no problems, Naruto is getting a very much undeserved Live Action adaptation by Lionsgate (and I hated Naruto) and Indy game developers are getting majorly hosed out of a promised $1,000,000 fund by Ouya to help fuel their games. Ladies and germs, now for your reading pleasure (and slight displeasure), this week’s Rave and Rant of the Week are as follows:

Geek Rave of the Week

In life, you gotta do what makes you happy. That’s just the simple truth to it. And certain people, like the creator of a series of uber-popular jumpscare games, are doing just that. Just ask Scott Cawthon.

 

image002

Creepy.

For the uninitiated, Five Night’s At Freddy’s is a point-and-click survival horror adventure that sees you attempting to ward off a group of possessed animatronics hellbent on your demise. Over the course of the past year, Mr. Cawthon has released a whopping four games in the series covering the lore of the fictional world. These games and the breakneck pace at which they’ve been released have been the subject of much criticism, both exceedingly good (those who have enjoyed its simplistic, yet intense nature) and excessively bad, claiming he is simply just churning out game after game as a way to milk the proverbial cash cow.

image003

Moooooooney.

It’s no secret Scott Cawthon is more than aware of what everybody’s been saying and finally decided to let his critics know what is exactly on his mind when he posted the following on the FNAF4 forums on Steam: “Hi guys. First of all, I wanted to thank the community in general for the huge outpouring of support through emails and in the forums. I know a lot of you are concerned about me or think that I’m stressed out. It’s true that I’m stressed a little; but it’s ok because the result was good. I’ve worked very hard this year, almost non-stop, to produce good games for this series. Even though there may be some debate as to how “good” the games are, I did my best to provide some good scares and a good story. All I can do is judge from the Steam reviews that I’ve been mostly successful; so I’m very happy about that.

 

It’s true that there has been a lot of hate toward me lately; on the forums, on youtube, etc. And I’ll be honest, it’s difficult. It’s difficult when people seem to dislike you only because you’ve found success with something. I think some people have this idea that I spend my days swimming in gold coins like Scrooge McDuck, cranking out games with no effort, then laughing all the way to the bank. The reality is quite different, and I think that people who hate on me for being successful are misguided.

 

 

Did you know that last year I was working at Dollar General? I worked as a cashier. I had three bosses who were all still in high school. Before that I worked at Target in the backroom freezer, unloading frozen foods. I haven’t had a successful life; and now that God has blessed me with some success, I’m doing my best to be responsible with that success. I don’t party on weekends, I don’t get drunk or sip martinis. I spend my evenings playing Megaman 3, buster only, with my kids. And I try to good with what’s been given to me.

 

 

I guess the reason I’m telling you all of this is to make sure you know that I’m human. I have a lot of flaws, and I’ve made a lot of mistakes. My games aren’t perfect, and they never will be. But something more important that I want to convey to all of you, is that you should never listen to people who criticize success simply because it’s success. Being good at something is something to strive for, not something to demonize. Criticisms of my games are fine, and a lot of times the criticism is valid. But there are a lot of people out there who will hate anything that becomes popular, just because it’s popular, and hate anyone who becomes successful, just because they are successful. “Haters gonna hate.” –as they say, but I want you to know that focusing on someone else’s failure or success is the wrong way to live. People who make videos bashing other people are like people who run into a public square and scream into a pillow. They’ll get attention, but they won’t change anything. If you strive to be like them, then you’ll spend your life screaming into a pillow as well, and your life won’t mean anything.

 

 

The best emails I get are from people who have chosen to pursue game development because of the games that I’ve made, or people who have decided to do computer science, or learn programming. Who will be the next game designer? Who will make the next game for Markiplier to play? Make sure that it’s you! People who hate success will never be successful. Focus on your success, and your story. People always ask me what college I recommend, or what programs I recommend. My answer is to just go forward, practice. Just GET to college, study hard, be awesome at what you do. Make sure that you are next year’s big success story. Don’t fall into the pit of people who have given up on making something of themselves, and make sure you make EVERYTHING out of yourself.

 

 

I’m getting too old for this. And when I retire someday, I’m going to want to sit down at a computer and play YOUR games, read YOUR stories, and watch YOUR videos. Don’t fall in with the people who have already given up on themselves. You are tomorrow’s next big thing. :)”

You gotta give him some major kudos.  A lot of others in his situation would have either 1.) Given up on everything completely or 2.) Go on a major rant, which would have more than likely caused a ginormous PR disaster.  But instead, choose to take the high road when fully acknowledging all of his fans and critics and encouraging others to pursue their goals.

image004

JUST DO IT!!!!

I applaud you, good sir.

Geek Rant of the Week

I don’t like discussing politics on this blog, but when it does come up, you can bet it means something to the Geek World. And while the following is without a doubt a slightly extreme possibility and major worst-case scenario, the fact that it’s even a remote possibility is something to be concerned over. You see, there’s a thing out there called the Trans-Pacific Partnership (or TPP for short), which is a proposed trade agreement between the 12 nations around the Pacific Rim that is infamous for it’s secrecy. Not many in the public even know what it all details. But thanks to the folks at Wikileaks, you can see for yourself just exactly why it’s being kept so secret. And people (especially environmentalists, unions and those in the Health industry) are far from thrilled. Now, just how does apply to us geeks, you ask?

The USA-led Intellectual Property provisions in the TPP makes no bones about aiming to lower what can be considered a criminal offense and majorly up the penalties. So what it basically means is that ANY fan-derived work, whether it be cosplay, doujin , fan art, artist alley goodies can get even the most innocent entangled into a mass of legal trouble. And here’s the kicker: The original rights owner doesn’t even have to file a complaint.

image005

And just in case you weren’t sure about the proposed text involving the “punishment”, it goes as such:

Penalties that include sentences of imprisonment as well as monetary fines sufficiently high to provide a deterrent to future acts of infringement, consistently with the level of penalties applied for crimes of a corresponding gravity;

Great. Now even AMV makers are potentially gonna get thrown under the bus. And there are a number of anime and manga creators that got their start as doujin artists. Even CLAMP started out as a Doujin studio. With them trying to (effectively) outlaw things like cosplay and doujin, you can possibly expect future anime conventions to look something like this:

image006

Looks pretty dull if you ask me.

Luckily, talks between the countriesregarding the TPP have stalled significantly as of recently and the deal itself is in danger of collapsing if they can’t come to an agreement in the next month. Pharmaceutical patent data protection, dairy market access, and automobiles are among the major hang-ups. We can only hope for the best and that this deal does disappear.

For the mandatory pallet cleanser, I highly suggest checking out the YouTube channel UpUpDownDown, especially the video where WWE’s Xavier Woods and Big E play one of the newer Five Nights at Freddy’s games. 😛

Well, my fellow geeks and geekettes across the interwebs, that brings this blogiside of GR2 Weekly to a most satisfying end. And as I tend to enjoy mentioning every chance I get, should you have any suggestions for what I should Rant and/or Rave about (please suggest away, I promise I won’t bite), feel free to follow me both on Tumblr and WordPress. But as a friendly reminder, be sure to spread the word about GR2 Weekly. You all are pretty awesome. You are equally as encouraged to post much linkage on the official GR2 Weekly Facebook page and I just as strongly encourage you to like and comment on some of the links I post. I enjoy interacting with you all. See you next week! While you’re still here, though, be sure to check out and Vote Up Lemme Addams everybody. Sonny Strait will be a happy person. 😛

Leave a Reply

